Intro and some questions - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Bird Discussion Discuss your feathered friends here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-10-2006, 06:29 AM Thread Starter

Intro and some questions

Hi,
I am new here and thought I would introduce myself.My name is Robin I am owned by 1 Quaker parrot(Houdini) 2 Cockatiels (Casper and Smokey and 3 parakeets and their 7 eggs ( Daffodil, Baby Blue and Dusty) Dusty is the mom to the eggs...she is not a freiendly bird...she was given to us along with aanother male. The male was not very healthy we had him to the vet but he was already too sick and nothing helped him. She is very healthy just not very friendly...when the male passed we ought 2 others...Well they all get along very well...soo well that we now have 7 eggs from them. This is my first time at breeding birds.I have a brooder set up just in case something goes wrong. And even had my vet teach me how to hand feed if I need to. I go there on the weekends and he has been teaching me( he has quite a few babies ) I have been giving Mom extra calcium and lots veggies and fruit is there anything else I need to do for her. She has a nest box which she is aways in the male does feed her...Can I put some food inside the nest box for her??She is getting a bit thin but extremely so.But I don't want her to get sick and weak either.
Robin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-10-2006, 05:51 PM
Adolescent Pup

Hi,
So far , it sounds like everything is fine.

Don't put food in the box as that can spoil and make "mommy" or the babies sick.

It sounds like the nest box is working well. "Daddy" is feeding "Mommy" and that is exactly what is supposed to happen.

Having a cuttlebone would be a great source of calcium and The male will feed from it and in turn feed it to the female.