African Clawed frog tadpoles - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Aquatic Discussion Talk about your aquariums or ponds and their occupants here!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-27-2007, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

African Clawed frog tadpoles

Hey everyone!

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for raising African Clawed frog tadpoles? I take care of a pair of adults for my school (I work as a lab assistant - mostly taking care of the aquatic animals), and they've been laying tons of eggs lately. I was told just to get rid of all the eggs but I felt bad doing that, so I figured I'd bring them home and see what happens.

Out of all of them I had, only 9 actually turned to tadpoles. I read online that out of 100's of eggs your lucky to get one frog in the end. Anyways, I cleaned the cage, I used bottled spring water for them, and 2 died after that. I think another one might have died today too because it wasn't swimming around like the others were.

So now I have 6 that are swimming around and seem to be doing good. I have them in one of those small hex betta tanks because they're so small, I didn't want to put them in something large and not be able to find them. For food, I just took some of the Frog brittle that I feed the adults in school and soaked it in the water so it breaks up into little pieces in the water.

I was only going to clean the cage once a week, since changing it sunday resulted in 2, maybe 3 dieing - but I think I might be feeding them to much and need to change it again tomorrow maybe.

Anyways, I'm hoping at least a few of them live. My brother wants to take 2 or 3 of them, and I would love to keep 1 or 2 myself. The frogs at school will probably lay more eggs so if these ones don't make it I could try again - then I would just have to find homes for some of them if I end up with too many.

Anyways, sorry for the long post! If anyone has any suggestions for me that would be great!