African dwarf frogs and betta's? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Aquatic Discussion Talk about your aquariums or ponds and their occupants here!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
Fashion Animal Freak :)

Question African dwarf frogs and betta's?

Hi, guys im wondering can you keep an african dwarf frog and a betta together in a 15gal tank? Ive got a spare one sitting around and i would love to own some.
If so what special requirements do they need?
Filter?
Heater?

Thanks
And btw, yes im still learning so please don't bash me

Rip Novo, Mummy Loves You x
"To close your eyes will not ease another's pain."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 01:50 PM
Hello Earthling

Yes you can house a betta and ADF together. In a 15 gallon you could have a betta and a couple ADF. Just make sure that you get African DWARF fronts and not african CLAWED frogs.

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
Fashion Animal Freak :)

Thank you,
Do they need heating or a filter?
x
Also what food do the ADF eat?

Rip Novo, Mummy Loves You x
"To close your eyes will not ease another's pain."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 02:12 PM
Hello Earthling

I am not sure if they need a neater or not, but I do know that you would need to use a very gentle filter if you were to use a filter since the frogs are sensitive to the current and what not.

You can feed them blood worms and other fresh and frozen fish foods. You are going to need to use a turkey baster or something to squirt the food in front of their faces.

post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 03:45 PM
is a little "special"

Personally, I wouldnt use a filter. The current stresses out bettas and ADF, and both can easily get fins/limbs sucked into it. If you do use a filter get one with a weak current and wrap panty-hoes around the part that sucks up water so no one gets sucked up