Decided to set up my tank - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Aquatic Discussion Talk about your aquariums or ponds and their occupants here!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 02:34 AM Thread Starter
Aspires to Stupidity
 
Nikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 2,312
 
Decided to set up my tank

Well about 2 years ago after all my fish had died I put my tank away. Now I've decided to set it up again, but I don't remember everything about setting it up. How long are you supposed to wait before getting fish? Can you put plants in right away or should you wait too? Any other advise would be great.

I have it set up between my couch and loveseat





It's cloudy right now and I haven't bought a picture thingy for behind the tank yet, but I really like where I set it up.
Nikko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 04:15 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,240
 
I like where you put it!! When you put the fish in there all depends on where you are in cycling. You can start putting just some fishfood in there to get it going and I think after awhile you can put a snail in there. I'm not exactly what the readings are suppose to be, but there are old threads that have them included. Good luck!!
sara8 is offline  
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 11:42 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
You have to cycle the tank first...do a search for "fishless cycling" and you'll find tons of info . Or you could just buy some Bio-Spira...you add fish at the same time you add it. You'd probably have to order it online...I've gotten it here twice: http://www.fishstoretn.com/bio_spira.html. Don't get anything else...there are many similar products on the market but most don't do anything.

Your tank is cycled when you have no signs of ammonia or nitrites for a few days (after the tank has been running for a little while). Then you can slowly add fish .

It's fine to add plants right away...it'll help the tank cycle faster, actually. Another way to speed things up is to use filter media and/or gravel from an established tank.

What are you thinking of getting?




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
Aspires to Stupidity
 
Nikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 2,312
 
I used the same sand that I used two years ago, lol, I still had it. I just cleaned it REALLY well. I have never tested for ammonia or nitrites before how do you do this?

I have no idea what kind of fish I'll get, there's not a whole lot to choose from in my town. If I want other one's I have to drive an hour away. I'll let you know what I choose.
Nikko is offline  
post #5 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 01:23 AM Thread Starter
Aspires to Stupidity
 
Nikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 2,312
 
I hate double posting, but it won't let me edit.
My fiance really wants to get a Kuhli Loach and I was wondering if anyone else has them and what other fish can be with them?
Nikko is offline  
post #6 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 04:38 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikko
I used the same sand that I used two years ago, lol, I still had it. I just cleaned it REALLY well. I have never tested for ammonia or nitrites before how do you do this?

I have no idea what kind of fish I'll get, there's not a whole lot to choose from in my town. If I want other one's I have to drive an hour away. I'll let you know what I choose.
You have to get a test kit at a petstore (avoid the strips, they are inaccurate). You'll at least want a test kit for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, and pH.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikko
I hate double posting, but it won't let me edit.
My fiance really wants to get a Kuhli Loach and I was wondering if anyone else has them and what other fish can be with them?
Kuhlis are pretty peaceful so most fish will be fine with them. Just make sure the loach has plenty of hiding spots .




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #7 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-24-2007, 06:22 AM Thread Starter
Aspires to Stupidity
 
Nikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 2,312
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasami
You have to get a test kit at a petstore (avoid the strips, they are inaccurate). You'll at least want a test kit for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, and pH.

Kuhlis are pretty peaceful so most fish will be fine with them. Just make sure the loach has plenty of hiding spots .
Thanx for the info!

I set up the rocks now and added some real and some fake plants. What do you all think?

Nikko is offline  
post #8 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-24-2007, 04:10 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Looking good . I love tanks with sand.




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #9 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-24-2007, 04:12 PM
Will It Ever Change?
 
mulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa
Age: 35
Posts: 7,346
  
that looks so awesome!!! i love tanks with rocks

"If you can't change your fate, change your attitude." - Amy Tan
mulder is offline  
post #10 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-24-2007, 04:16 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,240
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasami
Looking good . I love tanks with sand.
We love sand too. When we set up our 55 gal we just bought a couple bags of playground sand. We like the look better and it is alot cheaper than the gravel.

Your tank looks great!!
sara8 is offline  
post #11 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-25-2007, 06:08 AM Thread Starter
Aspires to Stupidity
 
Nikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 2,312
 
Thanx everyone! I like it too.

My brother used clean sandblasting sand for like 5 years in his huge aquarium and I loved the look of it so he gave some to me a few years ago.

I want to get some fish this weekend, but I'm not sure if I'll get around to it, I work till 1 in the morning during the week so I'd have to buy them on Saturday, but I'm going wedding dress shopping again and this time I HAVE to choose one so I might have to wait until next Saturday for fish. That sux!
Nikko is offline  
post #12 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-25-2007, 10:46 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,240
 
Well at least it will be that much more cycled
sara8 is offline  
post #13 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-25-2007, 02:26 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikko
Thanx everyone! I like it too.

My brother used clean sandblasting sand for like 5 years in his huge aquarium and I loved the look of it so he gave some to me a few years ago.

I want to get some fish this weekend, but I'm not sure if I'll get around to it, I work till 1 in the morning during the week so I'd have to buy them on Saturday, but I'm going wedding dress shopping again and this time I HAVE to choose one so I might have to wait until next Saturday for fish. That sux!
I wouldn't get fish just yet...you want the tank to be cycled first. If you absolutely must get a fish then get one small, hardy one. And keep up on water changes since the ammonia will be very harmful.

But really, it's not a good idea to put fish in an uncycled tank. If you don't want to wait for the tank to cycle then get some Bio-Spira .




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #14 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-26-2007, 02:06 AM Thread Starter
Aspires to Stupidity
 
Nikko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 2,312
 
Thanx for that info, I'll get fish later then, maybe next weekend.
Nikko is offline  
post #15 of 38 (permalink) Old 04-26-2007, 03:46 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
In the meantime make sure to get a test kit and start adding fish food so you can start the cycle. Unless you plan on using Bio-Spira .




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
Reply

Tags
bigger tank, cherry barbs, fish food, neon tetras


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome