evaporation etc - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Aquatic Discussion Talk about your aquariums or ponds and their occupants here!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Seeker of Orbs
 
TNSWfan80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: endor (TN)
Age: 39
Posts: 761
 
evaporation etc

do you all have any tips/ suggestions about doing an evaporation water replacement and then eventually a water change?

my hubby said all we need to do for the evaporation one is to let water get to the tanks temp then slowly put it in...and then some of that aqua safe stuff. seems like it's taking the water a looonng time getting to the tank's temp...

thanks

~beth

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thank you!--->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RIP hagrid. Pheonix! RIP, sweet piggie[/URL]

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dexter, chester, chester the 2nd, george, cinimon, tiny, DareDevil.may they rest in peace.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dugan
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bozo and zozzo, and tiny
TNSWfan80 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 04:26 PM
Dinky Corsetkisser
 
HappyDancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: fresno, ca
Age: 43
Posts: 4,020
  
I have to add some everyday (water) and I don't usually add the aqua safe, but I do test my water frequently...not sure if I am doing it right, but its what works with my fishies. I do a partial water change every few days in my mollies tank and usually every 7 with Cappy's tank...I do a full water change when my levels go wacky, I then use my aqua safe as well as the anti shock...my fish are all thrieving, but I am still learning as I go as well

Carie
Proud mommy to Ashley




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HappyDancer is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 04:59 PM
Hello Earthling
 
canadiancritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 4,729
Blog Entries: 5
 
well what I do is take a jug and treat the water and everyday I pour some in the tank.

You could also just treat some water and let it go to room temperature,and then pour it in the tank. As long as it's not to drastically cold or hot you'll be find.

and yet another way I use to do water changes was get a second heater and heat the water up in a bucket.





canadiancritter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 07:04 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
I just pour a small amount of room-temperature water in the tanks every day (treated with Prime first) .




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-16-2008, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
Seeker of Orbs
 
TNSWfan80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: endor (TN)
Age: 39
Posts: 761
 
ok. so i need to treat it first...then put it in a bit at a time?

sounds easy enough...

the weird thing is that we put a thermometer in the container to see if it'd get close to the tank temp, but it's not...after 3 days....it's like 68 and the tank is 76...

thanks

~beth

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thank you!--->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RIP hagrid. Pheonix! RIP, sweet piggie[/URL]

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dexter, chester, chester the 2nd, george, cinimon, tiny, DareDevil.may they rest in peace.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dugan
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bozo and zozzo, and tiny
TNSWfan80 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-23-2008, 11:23 AM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by TNSWfan80 View Post
ok. so i need to treat it first...then put it in a bit at a time?

sounds easy enough...

the weird thing is that we put a thermometer in the container to see if it'd get close to the tank temp, but it's not...after 3 days....it's like 68 and the tank is 76...

thanks
Well, the water is going to end up about room temperature after being left out. The aquarium water will be warmer because of the heater and/or lights. As long as the water isn't a drastically different temperature, you should be fine .




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2008, 03:06 AM
Paw-Talk Golden Member
 
Skratikans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anderson, SC
Age: 35
Posts: 2,238
 
if you are only doing a small amount of water for top off then you dont even need to treat the water..that little chlorine isnt going to hurt anything, I know ppl who even do these top offs in the shrimp tanks


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

i will hold you forever
i will stand beside you forever
keep fighting
keep breathing
hold onto me and dont let go
NEVER let go
you are my world
make it through
i pray for you

VIXEY- March 25, 1994- October 11, 2006 at 10pm
SKRAT- October 21, 2005- January 15, 2007 at 5am
BAXTER- January 30, 2007
I will love you forever, always

Next time we meet again, it will be FOREVER

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Skratikans is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2008, 12:45 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skratikans View Post
if you are only doing a small amount of water for top off then you dont even need to treat the water..that little chlorine isnt going to hurt anything, I know ppl who even do these top offs in the shrimp tanks
It depends a lot on where you live so I wouldn't necessarily recommend that unless you know that your water is only treated with chlorine. Some places add other chemicals and many areas treat the water with chloromines now.

Heavy metals may also be present in the water which are very dangerous to corals and other invertebrates.




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome