just a quick filter question - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Aquatic Discussion Talk about your aquariums or ponds and their occupants here!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 07:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,986
 
just a quick filter question

do you even think i need a filter. since i split my betta tank and had to move the filter to the middle the current is too strong, they cant get out of it well, and i have tryed serval things to slow the current with little sucess. help please!
i have a 5.5 with two bettas and a snail.
take out the filter? or get another one (advice on what one to get if i need to get another)
i want to fix this asap so i can have happy bettas again.
ratty_ratkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 07:37 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Well, if you take out the filter completely you'll break your cycle. And then you could just do a 100% water change every couple of weeks.

I know of good filters but they wouldn't fit in a 5-gallon =/. Isn't there a dial on the filter so you can slow down the current?




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 07:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,986
 
nope no dail.
i dont know what to do! i dont want to break the cycle....
maybe get another filter with a dail and use it but keep my old filter media and keep it in the tank. maybe buried just benith the gravle.
ratty_ratkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,986
 
some one somewhere else told me to put a sponge in it. i know they werent talking about sea sponges cuz that didnt help at all!
ratty_ratkins is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 07:56 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratty_ratkins
some one somewhere else told me to put a sponge in it. i know they werent talking about sea sponges cuz that didnt help at all!
They meant a sponge filter like this:

http://www.aquaticeco.com/index.cfm/...ories/ssid/244

I'm not sure how well they work since I've never had one before.




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,986
 
no they said to put a sponge inside my filter (near the cartage maybe) and it will slow the current.
ratty_ratkins is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 09:23 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratty_ratkins
no they said to put a sponge inside my filter (near the cartage maybe) and it will slow the current.
Oh, ok. I've personally never heard of that before. Interesting.

How is the tank set-up? Do you know the name of it? I have some filters I could recommend but I'm not sure if they'd fit.




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 10:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,986
 
its just a divided 5.5 nothing specail for set up.
my filter is a whisper filter for 5-15 gallons from walmart.
thanks for your help.
i am reading more about sponge filters, i think i may switch.
ratty_ratkins is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 10:50 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratty_ratkins
its just a divided 5.5 nothing specail for set up.
my filter is a whisper filter for 5-15 gallons from walmart.
thanks for your help.
i am reading more about sponge filters, i think i may switch.
If you do switch let me know how it goes . I'm interested in them as well.

And this is a filter I highly recommend but I'm not entirely sure it'd fit:

http://petco.com/Shop/Product.aspx?R...familyID=2402&




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-28-2006, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,986
 
i found a sponge thing and put it inside my filter and it did slow the current. maybe not enough. i will wait a few days and if the fish dont seem happier i am making my own sponge filter (very cheap and very very easy to make)
ratty_ratkins is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome