New Betta = New Tank - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Aquatic Discussion Talk about your aquariums or ponds and their occupants here!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-23-2007, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
Adolescent Pup

New Betta = New Tank

Hello there I am a newbie to the forums, I would really like to get some helpful advise if at all possible. I have been planning on getting a new male Betta preferably a crown tail very soon for quite sometime now. I was going to use a 2 gallon tank that I have down in my basement where I pretty much live. And if it was to cool down there still for him I was going to look into getting a heater to help out.
But very unexpectedly my mother grabs me up and takes me out to Petco yesterday where we bought three fairly big Goldfish. She has taken two of them under her wing and I have the other now in my 2 gallon tank down stairs.
But I still would like to get a new Betta at least by October, I was throwing around the idea of if I should get a 2 gallon or 1 gallon tank?
I know I want to have a filtrated tank. We have one Betta in the house that already live in one of those Betta bowl things. And although he seems perfectly content with it, I just don't like the idea of doing that to a fish my self (I can't do anything about the current one since he is not mine he's my mother's and I just help take care of him most of the time.) I am not sure if I have enough room to get another 2 gallon tank because I already have two and I have been trying to clear up space around my house for ages, and just don't have a lot of space to put a tank right now! I heard though I have come across a spot in the house that if I did a little rearranging would probably work just fine! And I think it should be ok for a 1 gallon or 2 gallon tank too! But if I can I would like to try a 1 gallon and see if I should move my guy to something bigger over a period of time.