Options for my new 15 gallon tank - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Aquatic Discussion Talk about your aquariums or ponds and their occupants here!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 07:37 AM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Talking Options for my new 15 gallon tank

Hey everyone,
This is my first post on these forums so I'd like to introduce myself as Tom.

I'm new to fish keeping but I've done all my homework on what kind of fish I want to keep and about the cycling process.

So far, my tank and filter has been up and running for a day or so just to make sure everything is running as it should and today I began adding a few flakes of fish food as a source of ammonia. I know it takes longer this way but I cannot get hold of household ammonia for love nor money in any of the stores near me!

I'm using the time between the setting up of the tank and the final stage of cycling to find out more about the type of fish I want to keep and this is what I need some advise on really, as I'm unsure on whether my ambition will overstock my tank.

First of all, here are some details about my tank...
length x width/depth x height (approx.)

45cm x 30cm x 35-40cm

... and my current water parameters...

with any luck ammonia and nitrite will be completely zero by the time it's cycled.

pH is around 7.5

ambient temperature is at a constant 26 degrees Celcius, night and day with both lights on (only for around 12 hours - off entirely at night) in a fairly warm bedroom.

I have a few ideas about fish, I really like Harlequin Rasboras and I'd like to keep maybe 6(ish). Peppered Corydoras or Clown Loaches are nice looking bottom feeders and I'd like to keep one or two of those and I'd like a focal fish or something to fill the space between the top and the bottom of the tank! Something like a single (or a pair if the tank is big enough?) Blue ram Cichlid!

What do you guys think?

Tom

Thanks in advance, by the way!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement