Therapy please!! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-04-2006, 07:10 PM Thread Starter

Therapy please!!

Hello,
I am excited to have found this site!! I can't wait to talk to people who understand and love animals as much as I do. Here's my story, I hope I don't bore you, I just need to vent!!! I am a teacher in a small rural school in Missouri. This is my 9th year of teaching at the same school. I love my job!!! I am also an avid animal lover, and made the decision last year to buy a pet for my classroom. I wanted something unique and exotic!! Not just some hamster. After doing much thinking, researching, and with permission from my superintendent, I decided on a red-tail boa constrictor. I named her Grace, and she became the best thing that ever happened to my classroom. She was the best teacher. She taught measurement in math, poetry, research, animal husbandry, responsiblity, respect, and unconditional love. The students in all grades loved her, and couldn't wait to be in Mrs. Scotten's class (because of Grace). Well, it is halfway through another year. Right before the Christmas break, my principal came and told me that the school board wants "the snake" to be taken home and not brought back. I was not given a reason. When I returned from break I learned from one of my students (her Uncle is on the board) that I was "taunting" the teachers with my snake. This is such Bull hockey. Yes, all the teachers, the men were the worst, were scared to death of her, therefore out of respect for this, I kept her hid, and avoided people in the hall whenever I could. I always thought I got along with all of my colleagues, but obviously not. I have no idea who would have been such a baby about this!!! Why couldn't they have just given me a warning, and asked me to not let her out of my room, or something. They are punishing my students more than they are me. I bought her for my kids!! Although I have grown extremely attached to her, a