Hello - Paw Talk - Pet Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-05-2007, 10:09 PM Thread Starter

Hello,
I am the new owner of 3 green anoles. I have had them for 5 days.
I am new to reptiles and would love to learn more about their care and behavior.
I have one large anole "Rex" who seems to think he owns the cage (30 gal. critter cage) and all food and water.
I tried to get 1 male and 2 females. I depended on the pet shop for sexing them.
Now I wonder if I don't have 2 males and maybe 1 female.
There is a lot of head bobbing and flaring of Rex's dewlap.
One anole will bob back but does not change color or move.
The other one will bob then turn brown and perhaps run away.
The same one(I think)stayes hidden most of the time and I worry about how much she or he is eating.
Ok, speaking of food. When I first brought them home they ate like mad. Now they don't seem to be interested in their food.
It has not changed. I feed them pinhead crickets 2xdaily and meal worms 1 per anole 2xweekly. They also have some peach baby food.
I mist their cage at least 2xdaily.
They also seem a bit sluggish.
I need advise, I don't trust the pet shop. They tried to talk us into putting them in a desert enviroment complete with a sand substrate.
No, we did not do that.
Ty Ladybug
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-07-2007, 08:42 PM
Will It Ever Change?

i know nothing of reptiles, other than from friends. doo they not need a heat rock or heat lamp to help them digest food? they also may just be getting used to your home?

"If you can't change your fate, change your attitude." - Amy Tan
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-07-2007, 09:19 PM
Playful Pup