A new addition to the zoo - Paw Talk - Pet Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-04-2006, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

A new addition to the zoo

I was out last night messing around and happened to find a little meditteranean gecko running around. I thought it might be interesting to watch him grow and just have a lizard around, so I caught him and took him home. Right now I have him in a 10 gallon terrarium with about 1 inch of sand in the bottom, 2 shelter rocks, a water dish, a small deer antler for climbing, and about 10 small crickets. I stuck a screen on top just in case. He seems to be doing well, he already ate a cricket and is checking the place out. Is there anything else I need to get? I keep it a constant 75 degrees in my room, and he'll be getting sunlight for around 5 hours per day. I'll get a heating lamp for him in the winter, but I don't think he needs one right now. I'm kind of new to lizards, I had two leopard geckos about 6 years ago, but nothing since then. Oh, and roughly how big do they get? He's about 1 1/2 inches right now (no tail, he didn't have one when I found him). Are they typically kept as pets or are they wild? I know we have a lot around here, but I haven't ever seen them in pet stores. Anyway, and info would help!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Proudly Owned By
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Senegal Bichir ~ Eli
Ferret ~ Cooter Brown
Horses ~ Saturn, Gypsy, Ti, Sharky & Pistol
Dogs ~ Shiloh, Piggy, Buster, Morgan & Rags
Cats ~ Tiger, Leo & Angel
Cows ~ Slobbergut & No name

~*No i brestanneth anirach tirad vi amar*~

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 09-05-2006, 10:01 AM
Loopy AppleNose

I've kept them in the past. Interesting little guys.

You're setup should be fine, they're pretty adaptable - at least to urban areas.