Advice Welcomed!! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 05:44 AM Thread Starter

Advice Welcomed!!

I'm new to this choosing a puppy thing. My parents have always done it for the family...but finally, it's my turn. I'd love to hear your advice!

So, today at a certain Petsmart, there were some 9 week old chihuahua mixes. They have the mother, who is a chi, but no idea about the father, since this was a rescue.

The cost of one is $350, rightly to pay for the cost of the spay/neuter surgery, plus any other expenses incurred (i.e food).

Should I get one?! I want a small dog (she said they will remain under 10lbs.), already fixed, utd on shots, and dewormed.
I also want one that young, who has been somewhat socialized, since I want to socialize mine perfectly, as I don't want a yappy, dependent, protective chi. These dogs live with littermates and one other litter at the moment, and I will strongly continue socialization myself.

Thanks for the advice!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 06:32 AM
Zippy Chickenshorts

Aww, I'm glad you are detting a pup, it's a great feeling
My advice would be, that maybe you should do some research about petsmart and make sure they are a good shop to buy a dog from as you never know what the conditions are. Also, I think it may be a bit risky because you do not know what the father was or what he was like and it's always best to know the back ground or you never know what sort of temper the puppy will have and things like that, however I am not that experianced so you might want to hear what everyone else says as this is just my veiw.
I think it's better to buy from a shelter or breeder to be honest, but thats only typical of me because over here we don't sell dogs in pet shops.
I wish you the best of luck and hope you find the perfect pup!
xxx