Any dog care advice please! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-03-2005, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Question Any dog care advice please!

Hello i'm new to keeping a dog and do not and haven't ever owned one. i've been researching dog care. I have decided on a border collie prehaps from rescue any advice would be very welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-03-2005, 05:00 PM
Angel to Abandoned Puppies

Border Collies are very active dogs. I would recommend doing a lot of breed research. If you choose a border collie make sure to have a big yard that is totally enclosed. Also, if you get a border collie you'll have to watch them with your kids if you have any. They are great with kids, but will nip as they try to "herd" them. It is not malicious, but pure instinct.

Find a good quality breeder that will be there for you. Find a high quality feed to feed. Make sure to talk to your local vet to find out their vaccination schedule. Decide what method of training you'll use too.

Crate training is highly recommended.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MCBA Member

I've Been Frosted
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-03-2005, 09:28 PM
Paw-Talk Addict