dewclaw removal - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-17-2005, 01:45 PM Thread Starter

Hi,
I'm new to pawtalk. I found it while searching for info on dewclaws. I have a dog that I am fostering from Hurricane Katrina. I already have 2 purebred labs, so by looking at the foster dog, I am 99.99% sure she is a purebred chocolate lab. I'm looking for evidence to support that theory. I noticed the other day that she had her dewclaws removed. Is that something that a breeder would do?
I kind of have mixed feelings about how she was cared for. She's less than 1 1/2 years old according to our vet, and she has either been bred in the past or is bred now. The vet says it's too early to determine yet if she is bred. She came up positive for heartworms and we got her treated for that she came back to us on saturday. She is an amazingly calm (esp. for her age) and sweet little labby. I just feel like someone is missing this dog, but why did she have heartworms? Anyway, that just goes back to my original question about the dewclaws... Am I a bad dog mom for my dogs having theirs still? Is the removal only something you really see in purebreds? I appreciate your response.
Jen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-18-2005, 03:28 AM
Wacky Chimpnose

Most of the time the dew-claw (sp?) is removed when a dog will be out in the field/forest and there is a danger of it getting caught on something (as they tend to be floppy and in the way). Most breeders will remove them, even on toy breeds (my Yorkie had hers removed by the breeder). My rescued dog still has hers. This dog was probably from a bad backyard "breeder" that was just using her to have pups (going by the heartworm, etc). How long did you have her after she was homeless? I'm trying to figure out if she could've gotten heartworm after being abandoned.