Diabetic Dog - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 04:50 AM Thread Starter

Diabetic Dog

Hello everyone

I am a newbie.....and this is my first post.
I have a 12 yr old golden retriever.....and recently she started loosing her eye sight and has been diagonised as a diabetic.
because of the diabetes she has developed catract (which is irr-reversible).
The vet has ruled out surgery,one because of her age and secondly in India vets are not very confident about performing the surgery.
So we have decided to go for insulin injections daily to control her sugar levels ( i m dreading that also...it will be very difficult to inject her everyday).
Can anyone plz suggest what kind of a diet regime we should follow for her, we guys are vegies so no meat or fish ,but she does take egg.

Our whole house has become dull and sad since she has been diagonesd with diabetes and has lost her vision..........and even in this time she has raised our spirits....she is adjusting well to the loss of vision and has started coming back to her cheerful self( afer the initial shock).

Its a very difficult time for all of us.........incase any one has suggestions about the diet for diabetic dogs..................plz let me know.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-08-2006, 02:05 PM

I found this site which lists natural diets for diabetic dogs. Unfortunately all contain some sort of meat.

http://www.petdiabetes.org/home_cooking.htm
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-12-2006, 11:40 PM Thread Starter

thanks CTChin , our vet has suggested dog food for diabetic dogs......which we will be getting from australia as it is not availble in India. Meanwhile we have stated upwith insulin injects.....it seemed so diffcult but she has taken to the injections very well and we are also getting better at injecting !!