Doberman and German Shepherd qustions - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 04:27 PM Thread Starter

Doberman and German Shepherd qustions

I am thinking about getting a Doberman or German Shepherd but my biggest fear is that they will not get along with my 2 cats. I've never had big breeds before, only a beagle and a basset hound. Can anyone tell me anything, good or bad about these breeds? Are they social and friendly? Im sorry if I'm coming off as steriotypical. I dont judge any breed. I even love pitbulls. I just want to know for my cats sake. I love my babies and I want them to be safe. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 07:44 PM

Are you planning on getting a puppy, or rescuing? I'm no expert, by a long shot, but I'm pretty sure that if a puppy was reared with cats, whatever the breed, most would get on with them just fine. Don't just take my word for it, mind you...
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-28-2005, 08:33 PM Thread Starter

Yeah, i was thinking that too. I'll probably get a puppy mainly because when I called a shelter they said most dogs are strays and that makes it hard to know if their compatible because they dont know their history.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-29-2005, 06:01 AM

Good luck, whatever you choose
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-29-2005, 04:12 PM
Movin' Up in the Pack

I had my two cats before I got my two dogs which where both puppies when I got them. My dogs are now 70 and 90 lbs and they get along well with the cats.
Back when I first got my cats I had a 95 lb dog and things worked out well also.
I do use caution, for instance my one dog doesn't like the one cat near her chewbone when she's chewing on it,things like that.
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-29-2005, 04:56 PM