Dog food - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-21-2004, 09:04 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Question Dog food

As some of you know, I'm new to this pet thing. Well, I was reading alot of posts about the different stuff that you guys are feeding your dogs. I thought that I was told not to give Cookie (3month old Yorkie) anything but his dog food. Is that wrong? Can he have people food, but fresh only? Anyone got any tips?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-21-2004, 09:53 PM
Tarzan Mama of Two

What type of dog food are you feeding your dog? If you are feeding your dog a high quailty pet food, then technically they are getting everything they need and don't have to have anything else. It would be a good idea to get him something for him to clean his own teeth with. Whether it is commercial or not they need to clean their teeth, and he will need it for teething right now!
There are human foods that aren't good for dogs, and it's probably easier for breeder's to send their puppies off to new homes saying 'only feed dog food' to avoid people feeding them biscuits, cooked bones, chocolate etc.
If you want to look at what natural foods you can feed your dog look up either kong recipes (there are some available in another thread started by formula86) or BARF diet in a google search. You don't have to take on their way of feeding but if you find sites from Dr. Ian Billinghurst, it will give you ideas of things you can use for treats possibly, or at least food that is okay to feed your dog.

Too lazy to even think of a siggy
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-21-2004, 11:31 PM
User Is No Longer Welcome

Feeding a dog dog food for the rest of its life is like me eating cheeseburgers every single day forever and ever more...Mmm..just doesn't sound right huh?