Hi, I'm a newbie looking for help for my very skittish almost 8 mo old bichon. - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 03:56 PM Thread Starter

Question Hi, I'm a newbie looking for help for my very skittish almost 8 mo old bichon.

Hi everyone, my name is Marlee aka Krissysmom. We lost our beloved 15 yr old bichon last July and I could not stand to be in this house without a dog so we bought Krissy in Oct when she was 7 weeks old. I realize now that she was taken away from her mom and siblings too young for one thing. But shortly after getting her my husband started having heart problems and had to have three procedures done over the winter. To make a long story short she did not get the socialization she should have gotten when she was very tiny. I started getting her out for walks as soon as the weather got warm enough and to meet other people and dogs. Sadly, we don't have many dogs in the neighborhood for her to socialize with. We live in a small town that doesn't have a dog park. The problem is she is afraid of everything and everybody. Like today it is windy and she has been a nervous wreck all day when I have taken her out because the wind is blowing stuff around. I walk with confidence when I take her out and show her I'm not afraid of anything.

I love this little girl with all my heart and hate that she is afraid of everything and will do whatever I can to help her. So if anyone has any suggestions please let me know.

Thanks
Marlee
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:57 PM
Paw-Talk Lifer

do you have a petsmart close by? maybe you should sign her up for puppy classes or just walk her around there where other people bring dogs.

[/CENTER]

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.