Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Need Advice Please- 4 1/2 week old puppy

2K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  Sasami 
#1 ·
I was driving today and saw a puppy cold and wet in a ditch.. Of course i couldn't just leave him there, so i brought him home and have warmed him up. I know he is WAY too young to be away from his mother..
I have a lot of experience with dogs and other animals, but I've never had one this young before.
Can someone please give me some advice on what i should be doing for him?
:confused:

#3 ·
At 4 1/2 weeks he should just be starting on solid food. Get some puppy milk replacer, easy enough, even Walmart has it. Wet down some dry puppy chow to almost a soup and offer that too. Use you finger to transfer it to his mouth if you have to. With a little work, you can pull him through if he hasn't been exposed to disease.

#4 ·
There's nothing wrong with actual canned food. Dry food can be toxic. Especially the chow. The grains can be contaminated with mycotoxins. And manufacturers who produce "chows" do not use grains kept under superb conditions, nor do they really care to use clean grains. Puppies nor dogs, really have no use for grains in their food anyway :) You're better off with the canned food from GOOD companies.

#8 ·
This argument isn't helping, its occuring in any dog thread that mentions you have to feed your dog and really goes no where.

Now for the origional poster, i would get some milk replacer and some good quality dog food or puppy food and wet it down. Keep the pup warm and get it to the vet as soon as possible. If the pup became dehydrated or infested with parasites the vet is the best option. Plus it never hurts to have a look over.

#9 ·