New Puppy That Won't Sleep - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-26-2004, 03:43 PM
MissJayla

New Puppy That Won't Sleep

We just bought a 6 week old Cocker Spaniel. Last night she cried all night long; I'm new to this what am I to do????? :blob2: She's a beautiful puppy but I'm at the point of wanting to return her already. Any suggestions?

Jayla's Mom

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-26-2004, 04:46 PM
Paw-Talk Addict

First off - Welcome to PT!

Your puppy is so very young. She's been removed from her source of food, comfort, security, companionship and direction. her natural instinct is telling her to cry. In the wild a young pup who has wandered off will cry to be found. She must now transfer her trust and security to you. Establishing a new routine with a young puppy can take some time. She'll adjust and so will you.

Be patient and for the first few days spend as much time as you can bonding with her, comforting her and reassuring her. Think about the type of dog you want her to be and develop a plan. Routine and repetition is something that will come into play for the duration of your relationship

My first and best suggestion is to go to the threads that are "Stuck" at the top of this section. Read them, and know you aren't alone . There is great information there. Also, go to the Featured Article section. There are articles there that you may find interesting.

We are here to help and to answer any questions you may have. Please feel free to post often - someone is always here with great suggestions and advice. Do you have any pictures of her? What is her name?

Again - Welcome to the board!!

[center]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.