Okay, talk to me about feeding schedules - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
Paw-Talk Lifer

Okay, talk to me about feeding schedules

I know pugs can over eat, and I don't want Gumbo to have a weight problem. But this is my first time, so I'm kind of fumbling as far as the feeding and how to go about it. Figured I'd ask.

As of now, I feed him about 1/4-1/3 of a cup when we get up in the morning - about 10-11am. (This is after going to bed at about 2am, being up at 6am for eye drops and a potty break then back in the crate.) Then I feed him about that much around 3-4ish. Then again around 8-9. So about a cup and 1/2 a day, which is right about where the bag says he should be for his weight and age.

Is this about what I should be doing? What about as he gets older? I know he's young and needs fed more frequently, which is why we're on the 4 times a day schedule for now. How often should he eat and how much as he grows? When should I switch to an adult food? One article said as early as 16 weeks to prevent obesity and I 'bout fell over! I was thinking 6 mos or so ... ?

Suggestions welcome!

Stephanie

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 02:43 PM
Angel to Abandoned Puppies

You're doing right!

I'd make sure he always eats at least 2 times a day though. Its better for them. Following the bag is a good place to start, but as he grows you'll know if its to much or not enough. NO one knows your puppy like you do, so let him let you know to an extent.