a puppy down the line - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-12-2005, 03:29 PM Thread Starter

a puppy down the line

i am hoping when im done with college i would love to get a puppy, the job that im majoring does a lot of at home work which is good. im really interested in a german sheapard, boxer, rottwiler, doberman, or a huskey. something good with kids (i know all dogs have the potentional of beeing good family dogs with the right owners and training). im not looking to get one tomorrow most likely 2 to 4 years down the line i just wanted some really good imput before i got a puppy. thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-12-2005, 07:18 PM

I'll leave the Doberman to CTChin to tell you about. She knows Dobe's very well.

German Shepard would be my pick out of the breeds you listed, if its from a reputable breeder. They are loyal and loving. They are also very protective, and if properly bred non aggressive. Shepards don't tend to have wonderlust. However, they do require a good amount of grooming and they shed A LOT.

Husky's are beautiful and often very loving dogs. Husky's don't tendto have your typical dog odor, and that under coat helps keep them dry. They too require a lot of grooming and do shed. The biggest draw back to husky's is they have wonderlust. They NEED to be kept busy or they will find a way out of the yard and run.

Rottweilers are wonderful, again ONLY if bred by a reputable breeder. Its the back yard breeders that have caused them to have the aggressive reputation. They don't require as much grooming as the other two mentioned, but they do shed. They are the biggest of the breeds you have listed. A well bred Rott is a wonderful addition to your home as they are very loving.