Question for Dog Breeders and Vets..... - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 12:04 AM Thread Starter
Adolescent Pup

Question Question for Dog Breeders and Vets.....

Ok, I know this is a weird one but it seems like I am always victim to the bizarre and not the common. I've been breeding cats for about 10 years, and have been breeding pugs for about 2, but NEVER have I seen this.

My newest black female pug, Storm, had her first heat at 5 months of age in September 2005. This was about 3 months ago. Right about now she started looking pregnant but I know that she was separated from the boys during her heat cycle, and pregnancy was not a possibility. I do not encourage under-aged pregnancies and am obsessive when it comes to maintaining separation during early heats.

So, I called a breeding friend and we palpatated her belly for pups. I felt one lump and my breeding friend felt 2 lumps that were not like the usual marbles but more like large capsules. Weird? I took Storm in for a formal palpitation at a very experienced and reputable vet and he thought he felt 2 puppies. Not being able to think of a conception date or even a possible date that our "heat iscolation security" could have been breeched we did x-rays and were SHOCKED by the results.

When a female dog is not pregnant the uterus cannot be seen on an x-ray. Yet here, on our x-rays for Storm, was a palm sized uterus that was COMPLETELY EMPTY! We took 5 x-rays from multiple angles hoping for a hiding pup but one could not be found. I have always seen pups be cocooned or reabsorbed when they die inside the womb but even the cocoons can be seen on an x-ray, and reabsorbed pups usually occur early on in gestation, not at 4-6 weeks out of a 9 week gestation.