Shih Tzu - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2004, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Shih Tzu

Hi,
I am thinking of getting a shih-tzu puppy. I am a vet tech of 18 years so pretty much know what health problems they may or may not come with. What I'd like is some feed back from those who have one, or have had one in the past. Pros, and Cons are welcome. I have always had large dogs. I really want a lap dog. If you have any suggestions please feel free to email me, or post here. Thanks, Denise

Any advise given by me is to the best of my knowledge and is not meant to replace veterinary care. If your pet is ill please take him to the vet ASAP. Don't waste your pets valuable time on the internet.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2004, 03:41 PM
Paw-Talk Addict

Hi Denise- I can't give you any breed specific advice, but I can tell you I have always had large breeds too. Right now I have a Golden Retriever and a Brittany. I've always wanted a small lap dog of my very own and after lots of research and soul searching I just got a Yorkie puppy.
I've had her since Christmas Eve and I have to say - I love my boys so, so much - but I had no idea how quickly I would fall head over heels for this little girl! She is SO much fun! I have never had such an affectionate, tiny, adorable velcro puppy. I just love the way she seems to love and need me!

I've had to make a few adjustments from the normal way I train - but I am loving every minute of this! Right now she is curled up on a blanket in my lap -her favorite place

Good luck!! It sounds like you are making the same decision I just did - a little lap buddy - it is quite a change from raising larger breeds!

[center]