found a Turtle need info quick - Paw Talk - Pet Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 10:21 AM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

found a Turtle need info quick

Found this critter upside down on our driveway this morning.
See attatchet pics
What is he/she called?
I dont have ANY clue what they eat.
HELP!!
Anybody know of any turtle rescues in Southern Calif. ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg S5031756a.jpg (53.2 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg S5031757a.jpg (57.3 KB, 6 views)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 04:25 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

It looks like a young Desert Tortoise (Gopherus agassizii) to me, but I'm really no expert.

I'd release it back outside, why did you catch it in the first place? The Desert Tortoise is an endangered species, so please do the responsible thing and release it in a quiet area asap.

~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 06:04 PM
Curmudgeon

Let it go. It's a wild animal, not a pet. What's more, all native tortoises are under state and federal protection. ...and they are protected for a reason, they are threatened or endangered. By removing one from the wild, you take a potential breeder out of the gene pool, ...for no other reason than your own selfishness.

For info contact the California Turtle and Tortoise Club.

Let it go.

The Mistress
"Cogito Ergo Zoom"
I think, therefore I drive fast.

Last edited by Mygala; 03-18-2009 at 06:07 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Before i posted anything, I did some reading.