African Dwarf frog help - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2006, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
 
African Dwarf frog help

Okay i just basically need help with my dwarf frog
like

1. what kind of tank should i use
2. Should i use a filter
3. i have no freezer therefore no freezed wormies. so instead i use the froggy/tadpole pellets. how can i tell if he's eating
4. another froggy or solo?

like those kind of questions i need answers for
please and thank you
marikoramen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-14-2006, 03:22 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
1.) That depends on how many frogs you have but since you should have at least a pair I'd recommend at least a 2-gallon. In a 5-gallon you could have five frogs.

2.) If you have a tank smaller then 5 gallons then it can't really be cycled so a filter doesn't serve much of a purpose...and with frogs it can be a bad thing. They are very sensitive to strong currents and it can shorten their lifespan if they constantly have to swim against the filter current. It would be like if you were constantly in the middle of an earthquake. They aren't very messy either and come up to the surface to breath so that isn't a problem. Just remember to change out all of the water at least once every few weeks and rinse the substrate. On the weeks that you don't do a 100% water change it would be a good idea to change part of the water and remove uneaten food. Also vacuum the gravel if you have a gravel vac.

3.) African Dwarf Frogs often don't eat when you're paying attention, hehe, and it can be hard to tell. Obvious signs that the frog isn't eating are seeing uneaten pieces of food and the frog losing weight. Some don't like certain brands of pellets so you might have to experiment with different kinds of foods. Make sure the pellets sink since they won't come up to the surface to feed.

4.) I would get another one if you have room since they seem to enjoy the company of their own species .

I hope that helps!




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-17-2006, 07:08 PM
RAT ADDICT
 
VanillaRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newfoundland
Age: 34
Posts: 19,199
  
Definatly get at least 2.They do better with other frogs (their kind of course).

I had a few of them before.They are cute little guys.Not too much work.

No strong currants as Stephanie mentioned.They are not the best swimmers,believe it or not.They are completly aquatic frogs,but do go up to the surface to get a breath of air.

If you do things right,they CAN live up to 6 yrs.





* Lisa *

* To the world you are ONE person,but to a rat you are the world *


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

* It's a rat thing...you wouldn't understand! *
VanillaRat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-01-2006, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
 
Yeah i've put my froggy in a fishbowl filled with nice lil hiding spots and a nice plant for him
i'm waiting on his friend because
his bowl gets DISGUSTIN!!!
i can see the skin just floating in there
so i have to take him out and put him with my fishies till i can prepare water again!

should i do something else about this?
marikoramen is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-01-2006, 05:37 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by marikoramen
Yeah i've put my froggy in a fishbowl filled with nice lil hiding spots and a nice plant for him
i'm waiting on his friend because
his bowl gets DISGUSTIN!!!
i can see the skin just floating in there
so i have to take him out and put him with my fishies till i can prepare water again!

should i do something else about this?
How big is the bowl and how often do you clean it? And what do you do when you clean it?

Maybe it isn't big enough...alot of fish bowls tend to be smaller then two gallons...often only one gallon.

By the way, I'm sure you know this already but don't forget to cover the bowl so he doesn't jump out.




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-01-2006, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
 
its about a gallon
and i clean it every week
but i mean
making it bigger isnt got prevent the fact that its disgustingly gross..
when i clean it
i just rinse the rocks
clean the bowl with a sponge that hasnt been used with any chemicals of course!
and i just put new water in and in he goes!
marikoramen is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-01-2006, 09:53 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd
 
Sasami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 9,930
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by marikoramen
its about a gallon
and i clean it every week
but i mean
making it bigger isnt got prevent the fact that its disgustingly gross..
when i clean it
i just rinse the rocks
clean the bowl with a sponge that hasnt been used with any chemicals of course!
and i just put new water in and in he goes!
Actually, a bigger tank will help because it won't get dirty as fast so it won't get that gross.

What are you feeding? Remember to always remove un-eaten food otherwise it'll rot.

If you were using a larger tank I'd recommend trying a sponge filter or something to see if it helps but I don't know how well that'd work in a small bowl.




~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




Sasami is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-01-2006, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
 
well this is kinda just temprary for him at the moment
i have this huge tank
just g2 buy a desk to it on

i get him these frog bites
cuz i have no freezor to buy him wormies
but i think its cuz of the shedding....
cuz he does it like 24/7
any advice
marikoramen is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-11-2009, 05:25 PM
Newborn Pup
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SD, USA
Posts: 3
 
I feed Frog Bites charged w/ energy. As they have wheat included, probably
I will not feed it often since ADFs do not eat grains in the wild. I noted they
take longer to digest Frog Bites.
Karen Eu is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-12-2009, 05:32 PM
Hello Earthling
 
canadiancritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 4,729
Blog Entries: 5
 
This thread is from 2006





canadiancritter is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-31-2010, 03:59 PM
Newborn Pup
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 26
 
I need help with my fish/frog tank. I have 4 Glofish, which are really Zebra Danios, and 4 African Dwarf Frogs. I have a filter, heater, and a bubble wand. Ever since I put in the Glofish, filter, and bubble wand the frogs have not moved much. I also haven't seen them come up for water in a while. Anyways the ADFs have been hanging out around the bubble wand and near the opening on the filter tube. Are my ADF going to be alright?

I also feed them pellets. I got the frogs from the Brookestone Frog-O-Sphere package and then decided to get 2 more and upgrade the tank. The tank is a Marineland Eclipse System Six and I just raised the water level more than half of what it was before. Are my frogs just getting used to their new enviroment? Please help.

Last edited by steelThread; 01-31-2010 at 04:02 PM.
steelThread is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 11:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1
 
filters

So, I shouldn't have a filter at all?
laurenalotis is offline  
Reply

Tags
african dwarf, african dwarf frog, bigger tank, dwarf frogs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome