African Dwarf Frogs - Paw Talk - Pet Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 07:41 AM Thread Starter

African Dwarf Frogs

I am new to this sight and frogs so I am wondering if someone can give me some advise.

I fell in love with a little African Dwarf Frog in the petsore and am thinking of getting 2.

My question is: as they are aquatic, does the tank need to be cycled as it does with fish to prevent losses due to "new tank syndrome?"

Thanks for any help you can give me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 02:03 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

Yes, the tank should be cycled. Though if you have a small tank I'm sure you could get away with just doing 100% water changes .

The biggest problem is that you need to be careful when choosing a filter. You need one that isn't too strong because ADFs are bad swimmers and can get sucked into the filter tube. I personally don't use a filter for my frogs...my live plants take care of the filteration and I stay on top of water changes . If you can I highly suggest getting plants anyways as they love hiding in them.

~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 02:50 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the advice. When you say 100% water changes, how often do you recommend? I am currently cycling a 5 aquarium and I do 20% water changes daily.

I did get a filter but it is basically a small air pump for an air stone that really does not cause much current with a small disposable filter. Do you think that would be safe?

I bought a 2.65 gallon tank.

As I am a novice in regard to frogs I truly appreciate all your advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 04:00 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

Quote:
Originally Posted by yelowbrd21