Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been watching Billy the Exterminator and he often catches Armadillos, oh my gosh they are the cutest animals I've ever seen! The don't seem to be very aggressive (like the raccoons - yikes!) so my question is does anyone have an armadillo for a pet? Are they legal and do they make good pets?

I'm thinking the answer is "no" because we don't see them around as people's pets, but why are they not kept?

·
Super Moderator
322 Posts
Some states don't allow people to own exotic animals easily. Most places require a permit for ownership of an armadillo. I have no knowledge of anywhere that sells them. Armadillos have sharp claws, a strong, musky smell, are constantly digging and are nocturnal. If any of this bothers you, then I wouldn't get one for a pet.

·
I'm not weird, I'm gifted
1,530 Posts
Armadillos should be quite friendly, but they are wild animals and not pets. If kept, you really need an enclosure for them.

·
1,530 Posts
Yes but as you say, they are wild animals.

It is cruel and inhumane to enclose a wild animal.
That's your opinion, and you are in your full right to have it.
But please remember there may be other opinions.

You say it like it's the only right way of thinking...

I've actually thought about getting one. It's a big commitment, but not cruel if kept under the right conditions imo.
As a pet with a collar on, and never getting to dig or do any natural behaviour you'll might have a problem, and should look into domesticated species.

·
Registered
5,083 Posts
My sister i think looked into getting one when she lived in arkansas and i think she found out they are very short lived and quite stupid. They appear to have a very limited brain much like opossums. I am not sure however, that is just what i remember i haven't looked into them. They are pretty cute though.

·
1,530 Posts