Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I got 2 hamsters last Wednesday. I am a complete newbie, I have no idea what the right thing to do is, and I feel like I'm going to kill them...

BG info:
BREED: Syrian hamsters
COLOR/NAME: One of them is white (Peanut) and the other is black(Black Bean). pic of Peanut sleeping on Black Bean
AGE: They were both born on the first week of September so they are only a little over a month old.
GENDER: I am about 70% sure they are both males. My friend who gave them to me checked, but he started to become unsure when I told him they started fighting. They kept moving around and squirming when I tried to check myself - and I was afraid of hurting them.
LIVING CONDITIONS: I got this at PETCO, so I'm using the Soft Sorbent bedding and food that came with it. I change the water&food almost everyday. But I haven't been able to change the bedding yet because school has kept me busy the whole week. They've been using the soft sorbent bedding since Saturday. I know I'm suppose to change it at least one a week, so I'm going to get them CareFresh bedding tomorrow and change it asap. It looks like this at my home

I don't have a CLUE about what's going on, so I'm just trying to be as thorough as possible on what I observe.

PROBLEM1.