Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tonight I discovered a lump under Stanley's throat. It's the size of a bean (bigger than a pea), and it moves around when I touch it. It doesn't seem to hurt him, but I'm wondering what kind of lump it might be given its position? I will be calling the vet tomorrow morning to take him in for an examination. Stanley has always been really healthy and hardy, so I'm pretty surprised to find something like this. He is overweight, so maybe that could be part of the problem? (He has been on a diet for more than two months and has lost some weight, but he's still chunky.)

Just wondering what everyone might think...

·
Registered
2,347 Posts
Wow, yes, I am surprised too at the lump, as I always think of Stan as the hardy and healthy boy too. I hope it is not a big thing and that the vet tells you it is something not scary. I wish I was a ratty lump expert, but I am not. :rolleyes:
Just wanted to post a supportive comment for you to let you know I hope all goes well at the vet's office. Let me know what the vet says?

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, Vlad. I have an appointment for 4:20 this afternoon. The regular vet isn't in today, so it will be with a new one, but hopefully that will be fine!

I checked the lump this morning and I can get my fingers all the way around it. I was reading last night about rat lumps on the throat, and it seems there are a few possibilities: abscess, swollen thyroid, or fatty lump/tumor. Cancer in male rats is extremely rare, so I'm thinking/hoping it isn't that. Best case scenario would be an abscess, because they could drain it. Worst case is that he'll have to have a lumpectomy...

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks, Dustette. :)