Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this might sound like an odd one but does degu pee dry white? Is this normal?

The reason I ask is because I've cleaned my cage out a couple times now and I find normally in the corners of the cage and on top of the nest box a white residue that I think is dried pee.

I'm just double-checking as I'm new to degus having always had rats before, and their pee never left any sort of residue that I ever noticed. I'm not feeding them anything other than the pet store degu nuggets they were fed on in the pet shop and the occasional bit of lettuce and carrot.

I think I might be worrying over nothing but after having one of them deglove its tail in the first week of owning them I'm a little paranoid!

Aside from my paranoia the degus are doing wonderfully!

Thanks!

~Robyn

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
To me that sounds like calcium deposit.
:S Is this bad? Sorry for sounding like a bit of an idiot! I've not really changed anything since they came from the pet store other than the occasional treat as mentioned so if it is calcium deposit do you think they were probably the same in the store?

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
What is the brand of food? Calcium content could be too high - and they may be trying to dispose of it. You don't sound like an idiot, :) Same thing was happening to my rabbit - after her pee dried(she's been peeing outside her litter box - hello, sexual maturity!), I kept seeing white deposits, since I've begun switching her back to what I had her on originally, I haven't seen the white deposits. So yeah, the brand of food you're feeding your degus might have a calcium content that's a little too high.