Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having some trouble with the new 5 week olds (we ended up getting the OLDER dumbo's.)

They are quite skiddish and just picking them up is always a process. They are squirmy- getting them is so hard. The lady I bought them from had mama literally perched on a chair and the rat would run free and was easy to catch. Also, having never seen us before the older rat let us play with it. PLEASE help- was that just because her rats were past 1 yr old?

How can I train my baby rats to be easy to just come to me and be amazing adults. I am relatively new at this. I am home all of the time and they are out MINIMUM 7 hours a day. They play all day long, but once it's bed time or any other time it's hard. I can't just pick them up like it's nothing whenever I want/need. Eva fell off the couch the other day and catching her wasn't easy. I feel like I am always chasing after them when it's time to go back.

Am I doing something wrong? They feel comfy sleeping in the open, coming to be for treats, playing with me fingers just not being picked up when they don't want to be. I'm a worried Mom who would do anything for these guys. Is training them going to be extremely hard or am I just worrying to be much because we've only had em' for 2 1/2 days***?

***(although our FIRST rat Eva still doesn't let us pick her up easily, but she's not skiddish at all.) Please help me- is all hope of one of the males becoming a couch potato and the females willingly being picked up over? Help!

· Registered
2,347 Posts
No worries, you have only had these babies for a couple of days and it will take lots of time and patience for the trust to build with them. There are lots of great tips here on the forum from veteran rat mommies and daddies so I am sure you will get a lot of advice on this, but don't worry. Keep checking your post for replies and tips!