Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone. I've had rats for a while, and I know that there is no way to keep them from smelling at all! but, this is my first time having boys instead of girls and it is definitely a bigger challenge to keep the smell under control.

does anyone have any suggestions for air fresheners that are safe to use near a cage, or ammonia absorbers, etc? anything like that. I change the bedding completely once a week, more often in their bathroom corner. is the best thing to do just give a major scrub down of cage once in a while?

the cage is not stinking up the whole room, or causing any health problems or anything, I'm just looking for anything more I can do. I like people to believe me when I say rats are great pets, and you know they will be checking for a smell!

thanks in advance!

·
laugh often
1,690 Posts
I put bio odor in my male rats water. It helps siome but not completely in my opinion. I get my bio odor from the petstore in the ferret section.

·
Fluffy Gerbilshorts
4,378 Posts
What kind of cage and what kind of bedding do you have? They can make a HUGE difference in the way the cage smells. I have noticed that some paper based products don't absorb the smell well. It's really hard to tell without you posting what kind of bedding and what kind of cage you have.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
oops

yes, sorry about that, should have mentioned the details! I have them in a big bird cage that I fitted shelves into, and I'm using carefresh bedding.

·
Fluffy Gerbilshorts
4,378 Posts
How long have you had them? I personally am not impressed carefresh. I think Yesterday News works better...some people mix it with carefresh or aspen so you don't use it as quickly and so it's a little softer on ratties feeet.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·